StartLaTeX faqLaTeX for Beginners F.A.Q.LaTeX topicsLaTeX courseSearch

By default, chapters in LaTeX are numbered using Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3, ...). However, it's possible to change the format of chapter numbers to Roman numerals (I, II, III, ...) as well.

To do this, you can use the following command:


When using Roman numerals for chapter numbering in LaTeX, it's important to note that there is no Chapter 0. If you want to include a Chapter 0 for an introduction or similar section, you must create it before changing to Roman numerals. Otherwise, you'll end up with a chapter without any numbering.

Contact   Privacy Policy   disclosures

accept decline

This website uses cookies and pixel tags to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.learn more about cookies see also our privacy policy